Away From Home

Today, I want to talk about the moment you realize that you will have to leave your family for a certain period of time and be more than 4,000 miles away from them.

First thing first: I have been away from my family before, but never as far as Newcastle and for a year. It has either been long distance for a short time (5 months in Nottingham) or close enough for a year (My family was in Atlanta while I was in Orlando for a year). Starting September 2016, I will be more than 4,000 miles away from my family for a whole year. During my first study abroad in Nottingham, I did not hit the dreaded depression stage until the last month (Beside one little hiccup on March 19th…my brother’s 18th birthday…it still hurts). That last month I stayed in my room, and my friends had to come in and drag me out of my room because I was missing my family so much. I even left a week earlier than I had planned to because I didn’t want to miss my mother’s birthday.

I decided to write this post because I just realized that I will miss Thanksgiving, Christmas, Three King’s Day, both my mom and brother’s birthday, and  Mother’s Day during my time abroad next year. I am extremely close to my family, and they really are my life. My brother is like a son to me (He has a disability so I feel an even stronger need to protect him everyday), while my mother is both my mom and dad, plus my best friend. It is just the three of us, while the rest of the family and friends are either in Atlanta or Puerto Rico. This time around I believe I will be better prepared for making such a big move like it is to move to Newcastle because I have experience being away from my family before. I will teach my mother how to Skype and how to use iMessage, and I already told my brother he better call me at least once a week. In around 10 months, I will be making the biggest move in my life, and I can’t wait to experience it.

XOXO,

Ascenett

Leave a Reply

