Let the Waiting Games Begin: Letters of Recommendation edition

Hello everyone,

Today I want to talk about letter of recommendation or LoRs as I will call them. This is the part of your application process that is out of your hands for the most part.

Alright, so for most postgraduate programs, they will ask for two LoRs, and at least one has to be academic. I got really worried because I have been out of school since December 2013 so it feels like ages ago. I kick myself every time for not keeping up with former professors from my favorite courses. I changed my mind so many times about what to do regarding grad school that my mind did not realize that LoRs are extremely important for entrance to a Master’s program. 

So far I have asked 3 professors for LoRs and one has replied back. Classes start next week at GSU, so I will email the other two professors again next week in case they didn’t get it. On my email, I told them about the classes I took with them, what I have been doing for te past year and a half, and what my goals are regarding the masters and my education. I also sent them a copy of one of my many personal statements so that they got a view of where I am standing on my academic life. 

I am hoping I get the LoRs I need my mid-September so that I can send in my applications to my advisor (I am going through an education agent for this whole process, more info in the next post) so that it can all be sent in and I can hopefully know the results before thanksgiving. I want to be able to apply for as many grants and scholarships as possible and as early as I can so that I don’t have to take out the full amount of loans (more on this later). As you all can tell, this process has become a waiting game since now all I can do is wait. I am hoping I can get going with the process soon, but it really is out of my hands. So, wait we do.

I’m the mean time I will be adding a picture of the day in all of my posts for now on so look out for those!

Please subscribe and comment below if you have any suggestions or questions about LoRs. 

Till then,
Ascenett

Picture of the day

   Me at the Magic Kingdom theme park at Walt Disney World, Orlando, Florida (Last day of my internship in January 2015)

Leave a Reply

