The Stuggle: Personal Statements

Hello Everyone!

I am super excited to be going through this process as I am in LOVE with the UK. I had the opportunity of studying abroad in the spring of 2013, and it was literally the best experience of my life. I got better academically, met some of my best friends, traveled around Europe…well only Spain, Portugal and Ireland, outside of day trips around the UK and weekend trip to London. Seriously, my writing got SOOOOOO much better while studying abroad. I had one semester left of undergrad when I studied abroad, so on my last semester at GSU my grades were literally the highest of my undergrad career!!

Since we are taking about writing, today I want to talk about Personal Statement, and the process of writing one for postgraduate applications.

Alright, so if you know me well, you know that I can get my English and my Spanish mixed up (PS: I was born in Puerto Rico, so I have taken English and Spanish since forever) and my writing sometimes suffers due to it. Well, thanks to my semester in Nottingham my writing improved once my professor told me that my English was not so good… yeah…I know. So thanks to my worst critic, my English writing got so much better to the point that once back in the US writing felt like a breeze…a thick breeze, but one non the less. So that’s is why writing this Personal Statement has me so panicky. Well, as of right now, I have 5 out of 7 Personal Statements on first draft status. I even sent them to my friends so that they could peer-review them for me.

Right now, I feel as most of the personal statements are very much alike as they are all about the same topic…kind of…International Studies/History/Cultural Studies/International Relations. Oh well! I am hoping that the first drafts are good, and that they need very little work on them.

Now, I am going to finish writing these statements and making sure there is all statements are personalized towards each program and why and want to go to their university. If you have any suggestions regarding how to make a personal statement stand out or if you want to share how did it go in your process, please comment below!!

Also, if there is any topics you might want to me to touch, please also comment below!

Till then!

Ascenett

Leave a Reply

